If you haven’t heard this before, I teach a Sunday School class of 7th, 8th, and 9th graders.  When I first started with this class, we started late every week because they were out searching for food.  So, knowing the age group and wanting them there on time, I began bringing donuts to class every week.  It is now a few years down the road (4?) and my husband now often makes something for me to take in.  I will have to confess it is seldom healthy, but it’s once a week and it works  (did I mention I have mostly boys?).  One of their favorite things is when  Brian sends anything edible chocolate chip cookies.  He sends a big container and all of them are prepared to die as they know not one will return home.

 

 

 

Missing chocolate chip cookie.

Missing chocolate chip cookie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What happens when Brian cookies come to church?

 

First, former students now in another class often drop in and grab a bite before heading to class (especially for cookies).  Then my students polish off most of the rest.  I try to rescue a few for others because after class, I often have three little girls (future students for me?) show up in my room.  They stand there quietly and look at me with big eyes, waiting for me to give the command that allows them to get a cookie (or two) after ascertaining they have permission from the parents.  Last week, I had two people stop me on the way to the sanctuary to ‘taste’ the cookies and make sure they were good enough (lol).  Once they cookies make it to the sanctuary, I have a following of those who hope there are a few crumbs left for them.  A cookie has even given it’s life in service to a person who was having a low blood sugar episode.

 

Did I mention these cookies are GOOD?   Brian has perfected them, and they (and he) have a major fan base.

 

The point of this narrative?

 

The point of telling this story is not to brag on Brian’s cookies or to tell stories about the cookie monsters lovers among us.  If you’ve been with me a while, you probably feel an analogy coming on….

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies 009

Chocolate Chip Cookies 009 (Photo credit: MGF/Lady Disdain)

The analogy arrives:

 

Brian cookies ATTRACT.  They smell good; they taste good; they look good; they go great with milk.  In fact, the crowd they are accumulating of volunteer taste testers is getting quite large and grows every time they show up.

 

Christians should ATTRACT.  If we have Christ in us and seek to live a life guided by the Holy Spirit, we will be a different, peculiar, unique people.  We will have something others want.  They will seek us out and drink deeply of it, even if they don’t understand what it is.  They will want what we have:  a real relationship with the Creator that makes a difference in our lives and our interactions with others.

 

For example, I was having a conversation with someone who was very angry at another person.  I understood the anger, but I told them that I love her deeply in spite of it.  The person said, “Well, I sure don’t know how you do it!”  What a great opportunity to explain that the love I have, even for the unlovely, is not about me.  It is Christ’s love in me.  {Disclaimer:  I am an imperfect sinner just like everyone else, but sometimes God uses me anyway.}

 

If you maintain that relationship, continue to grow, and make yourself available, these times will come.  Others will see how you respond so differently from what is expected.  They will want to know how you do it.  You will have an opportunity to share.

 

Conversation in my SS class (when the cookies show up) often contains comments like this:  “these are soooooo good!”; “how does he do that?”;  “when is he going to make them again?”; and so on.  The students recognize that these cookies are special.  Why?  Because they know the baker, and they have tasted the goodness before.  Others will recognize God’s goodness in you and wonder how, why, what, and more as your light shines in the darkness, beckoning others to come and see.

 

What kind of cookie are you?                      Is anyone else getting hungry?????????????????????????????

Day 13/365 Today, I discovered the greatness o...

Strobist info: snooted 430EX @1/2 power directed at top of glass triggered by a 580EXII (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

{Disclaimer:  This blog post is not responsible for diet mishaps–wanna cookie?}

 

Related articles