WHEN I SAY, “I AM A CHRISTIAN”

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not shouting, “I’ve been saved!”

I’m whispering, “I get lost!

That’s why I chose this way”

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I don’t speak with human pride

I’m confessing that I stumble—

Needing God to be my guide

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not trying to be strong

I’m professing that I’m weak

And pray for strength to carry on

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not bragging of success

I’m admitting that I’ve failed

And cannot ever pay the debt

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I don’t think I know it all

I submit to my confusion

Asking humbly to be taught

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I’m not claiming to be perfect

My flaws are all too visible

But God believes I’m worth it

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I still feel the sting of pain

I have my share of heartache,

Which is why I seek His name

When I say, “I am a Christian”

I do not wish to judge

I have no authority…

I only know I’m loved

Used by Permission

Copyright 1988 Carol Wimmer

“And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”  Luke 9:62

This poem was sent to me via e-mail, and I loved it.  It did not state the author’s name, however.  A simple search later I found her and requested her permission to share the poem, which she graciously granted.  As an aside, I hate when people take other’s work and send it around like that without giving credit, especially when the author was so easy to find.  I do not necessesarily endorse her website, but I loved this poem and wanted to share it with you.  Have a great, God-kissed day!

