Every Summer, my oldest two granddaughters (and the other two, but they can do it during the school year too) get to stay ALONE with us for a week.  Any other time, the two girls are always together, so they need some Gma alone time.  Grandma loves it too – less need to discipline and more loving!!!  This week is my oldest granddaughter’s turn.

 

Storm Approaching Paradise - Coral Island, Phu...

Storm Approaching Paradise – Coral Island, Phuket, Thailand (Photo credit: Captain Kimo)

Friday evening, a storm blew through.  And I mean blew through.  My granddaughter and I were looking out our wall of windows, and the trees started tossing and bending all over.  Soon, a large part of one of our trees (a dead one we need to get rid of) landed in the front yard.  I personally adore storms, but my granddaughter is not a fan.  I took the opportunity to talk to her about storms and how the trees that bend in the wind were still standing.  These trees were still full of life and strength, but their branches went with the wind instead of resisting.

 

The dead trees had no life, no bend, nothing to hold on with, and they went down.  Actually another tree went down as well along with our neighbor’s new privacy fence.  My hubs was very glad that the trees are down.  He will have to cut them up for firewood, but he will not have to take them down.  The following are a much more detailed (deep) example of the things we (my granddaughter and I) talked about.

 

1.  When troubles storm your life, bend with the wind.  Don’t stand rigid and refuse to budge.  Change is inevitable.  Troubles are inevitable.  When we become inflexible and stubborn about life, it can take us down.  (Why me? Why NOT you?;  I don’t want to..)

 

2.  If you are a Christian, are you keeping close to the source?  Are you sucking up every drop of nourishment you can from the Living Waters?  When you remain supple through an intense relationship with the Root – Jesus – you can bend with any wind and remain strong and standing tall.  If you have stopped drawing from the Root, you may have dried up, back-slid, become apathetic, etc. about the things of God.  You, even with Christ as your Savior may still break if you don’t stay close to Him.

 

3.  If you are not a Christian, would you like to have a root system that will hold and sustain you through the storms?  Send me a private message at bryasy911@yahoo.com.

 

 

Did I mention we are without power?  Last night and today was spent without air-conditioning, lights, and all the other creature comforts I am so used to.  Over 100° temperatures haven’t helped.  This was a lesson for the gd in what life is like without all the conveniences we’re so used to (TV, internet, …).  She is not impressed.

 

When we do not stay close to the Power Source, we walk in darkness.  I, as most people, have had times where I was closer to God than other times.  Often the times of intense closeness happened during a life crisis.  When one of my children decided to check out some things (like a Satanic bible) in the senior year of high school, I had to engage in a fight for him.  I read books; I prayed; I quoted Scripture; I became so close to God I could feel His presence more strongly than at any time before or since.  I have not at any time needed God as much as I did then, even though there have been many hard times in my life.

 

I learned something through this.  I learned to battle for my children.  I learned to lean hard on God and not on Angie.  I learned the power of Scripture.  I learned much more than that, but for now, we’ll let that do.  When you have power in your life, it makes a world of difference.  You can continue to live in darkness, either as totally not connected to God through Salvation or as a follower who has slid into bad habits, or you can go to the light and let His power course through you.  It makes even more difference than the electricity in our homes.  It is an eternal difference.

 

The Granddaughter and I have also started working on teaching her about the Bible.  She loves to have me quiz her.  Today, we started making up index cards with the questions on one side and answers on the other, so she can study at home and we can concentrate our work.  I want my grandchildren to know about God and His works through the Bible.  While she’s willing to learn, I will do all I can to feed the need.

 

At some point, basics will not be enough, however.  I also talk to her about God (like the storm stuff) as we go through our day.  I point out God’s hand, and we talk about what it means to live for God, as well as practical ways to do so.  I want her (and the others) to have that Living Water and that Power in her life.

 

I don’t always know if I’ve said what I wanted to say, but I do my best, and I hope God will speak to you through the words you find here.

