Our 7th way of Loving is:  Enjoy without complaint.

“14 Do all things without murmurings and disputings:”   Philippians 2:14

 

►I love being with my family, but. . . .

►I would like working in the nursery, if. . . .

►This dessert is so good, but it would be better if you just put a little . . . .

 

The following were taken off of facebook statuses.  Sorry if I got any of you – actually these posts are from none of my known followers on this blog 🙂

 

Complaint Department Grenade

Complaint Department Grenade (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Why can some people read in a moving vehicle and others can’t? Not fair!”      Do you complain that life is not fair?

“woke -up with a headache about 3 this morning, not a good way to begin a vacation.”  Do you let little things (or big things) mar things like vacations?  Some people don’t get vacations.

“Some people really try my patience & sometimes I think they do it on purpose!!”   “Really hate game playing :-(“   Do you let other people steal your joy?

“im so totally stressed out… Havent left the house in like two days because we have no car. Broke as h***. Im so misrible. Blah”  Some people don’t have a house; are you grateful for what you have, or do you focus on what you don’t have?

“Heading out the door for work….yuck..”  Not everyone has a job and many would be grateful to have a job, even one that wasn’t perfect.

 

Of course, we all feel this way at times.  We pursue perfection, but none of us will achieve it.

Complaint_Department_please_take_a_number

Complaint_Department_please_take_a_number (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The point is to start looking at what you already have with a grateful heart and enjoy it.   As a person who can look at the tiny mar instead of the overall picture, I have to watch myself with this.  There’s always a way to make something “better” or “less worse” (grammarians – is that correct?), but why not just enjoy what is?

I can see this with my grandchildren (and with my kids).  They love the simple things, but I have a tendency to want to tweak something that doesn’t need tweaked.  Just hanging out is good.  They don’t really need (nor should I want to teach them that) entertained.  I’m learning, and I’ve cut way back, but still have a way to go.  Time together is premium and precious — no matter what.

When we love, we learn to enjoy without complaint.   Complaint is a form of saying “it’s not fair”.  It implies the complainer deserves better, and it makes the person appear ungrateful at best.  I imagine God even rolls His eyes at times as His children gripe about perceived unfairness.   The story of the Israelites wandering in the desert gives a great example.   If human’s were God, I don’t think they would be near as patient as He is.

 

Of course, I know my readers would never do this, so what are some ways you keep positive and grateful no matter what?

Count your blessings!!!!

 

 

