Prejudice

Prejudice (Photo credit: a77eBnY)

Since I’ve told a few stories on my daughter here, I thought I would take a moment to tell you something good about her.   If my daughter has a prejudiced bone in her body, I’ve never seen it.  She doesn’t see skin color, looks, income, etc. when choosing her friends or boyfriends.   Sometimes this puts her in a precarious situation because she doesn’t see the bad in people, even when they’ve hurt her before.  She is always blindsided by people’s bad sides because she just goes in looking at the good in them.

 

The D is much like my mother, who’s naivity caused problems at times.  Being like my mother is a good thing.  I hope, like her grandma, the D will never lose that inability to see things that others turn their noses up at.  She loves 100% and sees the awesomeness in everyone.   That is one of her most endearing characteristics, and goes along with her servant’s heart.

 

English: See Summary

skin color distribution (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I wish I could say I was 100% like her.  I never treat people differently, but sometimes I have to fight the instant prejudices that pop up.  I don’t have very many, but I am sometimes a cynic, and struggle with acceptance in certain situations.  I look at my daughter and see this beautiful young lady, so full of love.  I aspire to be like her in this way.  She loves as if she has never been hurt and gives people too many chances, even when they do hurt her.

 

 Prejudice, which sees what it pleases, cannot see what is plain. -Aubrey de Vere

Matthew 7,12

Matthew 7,12 (Photo credit: GlasgowAmateur)

Matthew 7:12   Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.

Galatians 3:28  2 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.

 

Scripture tells us that we are all the same.  there is nothing that makes one better than the other as far as we are concerned.  While some may reject Jesus, they are just as loved as others.  This is a difficult concept for many.  In the end, we are to treat others just like we want to be treated.  We don’t want others to look down on us, don’t look down on others. . . .

 

Matthew 22:36-40

Multi - Coloured Bodyart

Multi – Coloured Bodyart (Photo credit: humanstatuebodyart)

36 Master, which is the great commandment in the law?37 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.

38 This is the first and great commandment.

39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

 

This scripture says it all.  If we love God with all we have and love others as much as we love ourselves,  there will be no racism (acting out of prejudice) and prejudice will have no toe-hold in our lives.  This is my goal.

Do you struggle with this or are you an open book like the D?  Do you have any thoughts on the issue?  

 

