This week is the grandson week.  My 4 yo grandson is all boy, and I’m tired already!  We have a great time, however, and I’m always glad to see him come.  Today is a posting of random (or *promiscuous ?) thoughts, or ‘things I’ve learned’.

 

Fingernails boy style

When Klar was here, I had hello kitty on my nails.  For Roland, we have super heroes.  The first night he was here, we did our nails.  I took super hero stickers and cut them down to fit on our fingers.  Then a coat or two of clear polish to set it.

 

Jewelry (girl stuff) boy style

The grandson is just as fascinated by Grandma’s treasure box as the girls.  However, our play is a bit different.  So far this week I have seen him with a pile of necklaces hanging off his head (not neck), a clump being pulled behind his tricycle, and swinging behind like a cape.  He likes to wear the eye patch and funky teeth (also in the treasure box) and pretend to be a pirate with his ‘booty’.  He owns a wrap bracelet, that we call a ‘power band’.  If he has that on, he has super powers and can beat all the villains!  He also plays with the kitchen items.  Sometimes he ‘cooks’, but most of the dishes are now stuffed into the trunk on his trike.  Hmmmmmmmm

 

Karen 1/2

Karen 1/2 (Photo credit: -gigina-)

Hey Babe – crushing it boy style

Roland has a serious crush on his Aunt Karen for some reason.  She’s a bit creeped out about it, but it is a normal rite of passage for little ones.  He has been wanting to hang out with her, calling her babe, and crying if she looks at him wrong.  I remember just a couple months ago when he asked me to marry him!  How quickly they forget.  He was not happy when he found out Grandpa and I were also going to the mall with him and Karen (for Karen’s birthday).  He thought the two of them were going alone.  For some reason, he gets offended if we laugh too.  Ah well, who will be his crush next week?  Watch out Jason (his dad), this is only the beginning!  For Karen, I remind her that he is learning how to relate to others (especially ones he really likes), and she can help him do that or scar him for life hurt him by her responses.

 

I need something boys can watch.

Braun HF 1 television receiver, Germany, 1958

Braun HF 1 television receiver, Germany, 1958 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When the television is on, Roland will say, “I need something boys can watch.”  He means sports or cartoons.  Grandma started thinking (Oh  no!)  about this.  How often do we mindlessly watch television, unaware (or uncaring) that the subject matter, etc., may not offer healthy input for children.  I don’t watch a lot of things, but I occasionally have something on (like Dangerous Minds or any of the CSI shows).  These shows have quite a bit of violence on them, and the CSI ones often show very inappropriate images of a sexual nature.

I often have television on for white noise.  It is a mindless noise in the background that I seldom pay attention to.  This isn’t good for me.  It is certainly not good for any children in the area.  Here comes the conviction!  The Holy Spirit has used Roland’s words to remind me that what I think of as mindless, is anything but.  Time to make some better choices.

 

I hope you injoyed looking in our window 😀

What do you think?

