Draw it for me Grandma

I often draw super heroes for Roland.  In general, I have to have a picture or something to look at.  Roland wanted Iron Man tonight.  I have no idea what Iron Man looks like, so I told him I would have to have a picture.  He disappears with a crayon and a piece of paper.  Soon I hear, “Yup, that’s it.  That’s Iron Man.”   He brings me the drawing and says, “Here you go grandma.”  Needless to say, Grandma had a little bit of trouble drawing Iron Man from Roland’s drawing.  I’m quite impressed by it, but still.  So we looked him up on the computer and I printed one out that he took instead of a grandma drawing (whew!).

Once again, I find myself thinking of the innocence of children.  Roland had no doubt whatsoever that Grandma could perform the task.  She’s Super Grandma, after all!   Do we still think of God in this way?  God can do anything!

“…with God all things are possible.”  Matthew 19:26b

“For with God nothing shall be impossible.”  Luke 1:37

“Is any thing too hard for the LORD?”  Genesis 18:14a

“…Is my hand shortened at all, that it cannot redeem? or have I no power to
deliver? behold, at my rebuke I dry up the sea, I make the rivers a wilderness:
…”   Isaiah 50:2a

But the men marvelled, saying, What manner of man is this, that even the winds and the sea obey him!”  Matthew 8:27

“And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in
heaven and in earth.”  Matthew 28:18

“Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.”  Hebrews 7:25

Those are but a few of the many that tell us about the strength and power of God in all three forms of the Trinity.  I have personally seen His power many times.  I know He will never fail (unlike Grandma).  So do you trust Him?  Completely and totally like a child?  Or do you make Him prove Himself repeatedly, forgetting what He’s done before, forgetting who He is?

A friend and I were having a conversation recently.  She was talking about how someone had told her when she keeps bringing up old sins, she’s crucifying Jesus all over again.  This applies here too.  When we say, “I trust you. I don’t trust you.”  We’re flipping and flopping and not really trusting at all.  It is only when we fully trust that God can do anything and will do anything He said He would, that we can fully trust Him.  I think the question is this:  Do you believe or do you not? 

What do you think?

